a song of ice and fire - fake book covers (click for better resolution)


I made an Interactive Targaryen Family Tree!

  • Shows every Targaryen from Aegon the Conqueror to Daenerys Stormborn
  • Shows you which dragon each person rode
  • Has nicknames and maiden names
  • Includes details of the two wars that happened during the dynasty

Please like and reblog if you find it useful! :D

In his youth, Rhaegar Targaryen thought he might be Azor Ahai. At the time, Maester Aemon thought the same. If this is true, Robert Baratheon doomed all of Westeros when he killed Rhaegar.



A Mapped History of A Song of Ice and Fire by u/hotbrownDoubleDouble

mod note: While there are multiple typos in these images (“Roynar” should be Rhoynar, “Durrandon” should be Durrendon, “Gardiner” should be Gardener, and “the last native king” in the seventh image should be “the last Riverlands king”), this is nevertheless a very useful resource of pre-Conquest history.

Oh, I think Tywin knew about Shae. He probably figured out she was the same camp-follower that he expressly said “you will not bring that whore to court,” and that Tyrion defied him again and did bring that whore to court. As to precisely what happened here, that’s something I don’t really want to talk about because there’s still aspects of it I haven’t revealed that will be revealed in later books. But the role of Varys in all of this is also something to be considered.

ASOIAF’s additional stories


shortestthoughts asked:

What additional texts are there for the ASoIaF universe?

damon-come-back-to-me asked:

Aside from reading all 5 ASOIAF books, what other books have you read that are important to the current story?

…and there was that anon over on asongoftheories, too. Time for an update, I think.

The primary other stories in GRRM’s ASOIAF universe are the Tales of Dunk and Egg. This is a series of short stories set approximately 100 years before the events of the main books, featuring the adventures of the young would-be-knight Dunk (eventually Ser Duncan the Tall, Lord Commander of the Kingsguard) and his squire Egg (Prince Aegon Targaryen, eventually King Aegon V, The Unlikely). If you’ve read all five books, you may recall that Maester Aemon was the brother of a king — that’s him. The stories are important to current events for various reasons, including details about Targaryen rule, the Blackfyre Rebellion, and the mysterious Bloodraven (Bran’s three-eyed crow). Also, they’re a heck of a lot of fun, much less painful than regular ASOIAF. :)

Currently there are three stories in the series:

The anthologies are available in places other than Amazon, if you search for them (including less… legitimate copies of the stories, ahem), and you can also find them in many libraries. Also, if you can wait, there will be an illustrated collection of all three stories published some time in 2015, called A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms. (Note that book is already out in several foreign-language editions, but without illustrations.) GRRM has many other stories planned for the series, including one set in Winterfell and another in the Riverlands, but he’s put them on the backburner until he finishes TWOW.

I also highly recommend the truly excellent graphic novel adaptations of the first two stories, published as The Hedge Knight and The Hedge Knight II: Sworn Sword. They were out of print for a while, and Amazon/ebay booksellers were charging an arm and a leg for them (300 dollars or more), but thankfully they were recently reprinted via Amazon’s Jet City Comics imprint as The Hedge Knight (Amazon / Kindle) and The Sworn Sword (Amazon / Kindle). “The Mystery Knight” will also be adapted by the same creative team, but a release date hasn’t been announced yet.

Besides the D&E stories, there are two short stories set further back in the history of Westeros, about 200 years ago, during and immediately prior to the civil war called The Dance of the Dragons. They started out as “historical texts” for GRRM’s upcoming tie-in books The World of Ice and Fire (and/or Fire and Blood)and so have a very dry style, less of a narrative and more of a history book. But they’re very interesting nevertheless, and give us more details about Targaryen rule, dragonriders, dragon warfare, and some fascinating historical characters. These stories are:

  • "The Princess and the Queen", in Dangerous Women (Amazon / Kindle)
  • "The Rogue Prince", in Rogues (Amazon / Kindle, out June 17)

There’s also one more story, which I haven’t read — GRRM’s children’s novel The Ice Dragon (Amazon / Kindle). It’s debatable whether it’s actually part of ASOIAF (it may be a tale told in Westeros rather than a true historical event), but I’m told it’s pretty interesting.

And furthermore, there’s the “map book”, The Lands of Ice and Fire (Amazon). This isn’t a text as such, but it is a beautiful collection of maps of the world of ASOIAF, including many places that we will probably never never visit in the books themselves — but also including a map tracking the paths of the story’s protagonists, and maps of cities like King’s Landing and Braavos.

And finally, there’s the “world book”, The World of Ice and Fire. As mentioned, this is an illustrated historical text, written from the perspective of a maester. It details the history of Westeros and the Free Cities, provides family trees for the Targaryens and Starks and possibly even the Lannisters, and all sorts of fascinating things. Though it’s not out yet (scheduled for October 28), you can preorder it now (Amazon / Kindle). I’m looking forward to it greatly.

One more thing… beyond all these books and stories, there’s a few more sources for the very dedicated ASOIAF researcher. ;) If you’re interested, I’ve already detailed them here.

Hope that helps!